Classical Sax player Oviedo guests with New York Chamber Virtuosi

Classical saxophonist Javier Oviedo (soprano and alto saxophones) will appear as a guest artist with the New York Chamber Virtuosi under the baton of conductor Jean-Pierre Schmitt. The concert will take place at the Teatro at the Italian Academy, Columbia University, 1161 Amsterdam Avenue (between 116th/118th Streets). Tickets must be purchased in advance for a donation of $35 by calling 917 539 5828. For a complete press release, please download this PDF.


J.S. Bach –  Concerto for oboe and orchestra, transcribed for soprano sax by Javier Oviedo
A. Glazunov  –  Concerto for alto saxophone and orchestra
Gabriel Grovlez –  Suite for alto saxophone and orchestra
Debra Kaye –  Changing Forms
Eugene Bozza –  Aria, orchestration by Jean-Pierre Schmitt
Louis Mayeur –  Variations Brillantes on the Carnival of Venise (orchestration by Schmitt)
Saint-Saens – Le Deluge
Pierne –  Menuet du Roy and La Veillee de l’Ange Gardien