May 29 at Carnegie Hall: A Centennial Celebration with University of Kentucky’s Symphony Orchestra & Wind Symphony

On Wednesday May 29, 2019 at 8pm, Carnegie Hall will host both the University of Kentucky’s Symphony Orchestra and Wind Symphony in honor of the 100th anniversary of the School of Music at the University of Kentucky. The performance takes place at the Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage, Carnegie Hall, 881 7th Ave, New York, NY. Tickets are $20, and are available at or by calling 212-247-7800.

Conductors Birdwell (left) and Nardolillo (right)

130 players between the ages of 18-30 will appear onstage in this spectacular evening, which begins with the University of Kentucky’s Wind Symphony, performing an exciting array of contemporary and traditional concert band compositions. Among the selections are Sousa’s The Stars and Stripes Forever, all movements of Grainger’s Lincolnshire Posy, and the world premiere of Wildcat Run by composer James M. Stephenson, who will be in attendance. Designed to be ‘nothing but solid fun for 6 minutes’, Wildcat Run is a commission that highlights every section of the Symphony, with hints of Stephen Foster’s “My Old Kentucky Home” – a nod to the University’s 100 year run.

The University of Kentucky’s Symphony Orchestra follows with the Berlioz stand-alone overture Roman Carnival Overture, and Dvořák’s famous Symphony No.9: From the New World, which premiered at Carnegie Hall in 1893.


University of Kentucky Wind Symphony, under the baton of John Cody Birdwell:

Aaron Copland Fanfare for the Common Man (1942) (Dana Biggs, Conductor)
Julie Giroux  Symphony No. V: ‘Elements’ (2018) — III. Wind in Eb
Michael Daugherty Reflections on the Mississippi (2015) (with Matt Hightower, Tuba)
James M. Stephenson Wildcat Run (2019) — World Premiere
Percy Aldridge Grainger Lincolnshire Posy (1937)
John Philip Sousa The Stars and Stripes Forever (1896)

University of Kentucky Symphony Orchestra, under the baton of John Nardolillo:

Antonín Dvořák
Symphony No. 9 in E minor, ‘From the New World’ (1893)
Hector Berlioz Le carnaval romain (Roman Carnival Overture) (1844)

The School of Music in the University of Kentucky College of Fine Arts has garnered national recognition for high-caliber education in opera, choral and instrumental music performance, as well as music education, music therapy, composition, theory and music history.

For more information, please visit the UKentucky School of Music website.